March, 2024

Labyrinth

3/10/24

This movie is undeniably sick with some of the best set design and practical effects I've ever seen not to mention David Bowie bulge. But I think it's sort of lessened by being a kid's movie because there's not really much of a plot or character development. You could leave at any point and come back thirty minutes later, and you wouldn't have missed anything important. But the setpieces and puppets are just too cool not to make this an enjoyable movie, just not one I would ever rewatch.

Crimsoness

3/10/24

Just a short little freeware game with a memorable main character and plot, an amazing aesthetic, and that's fun to replay to figure out how to get the best ending.

Dune: Part Two

3/9/24

I've never really cared about Dune and I still don't, but this movie is definitely the closest I've come to wanting to read the book or watch the original. The plot was still very whatever but like the cinematography was just amazing there are so many shots that I can still vividly remember. Part of that is also just how electric some scenes were. It’s rare that if I don't care about the plot I'll still enjoy a movie this much and be so engaged but it's all thanks to how effortlessly cool some parts were.

Dune

3/9/24

The Zone of Interest

3/9/24

The cinematography, sound design, and even concept for this are amazing to me but I still felt it overall was sort of nothing special. The lack of any real plot or central conflict just made me sort of uninterested in the movie as a whole that I think made the more impactful moments of the movie not hit as hard for me.

Perfect Blue

3/8/24

Pokemon Legends: Arceus

12/23/23 - 3/8/24

It's weird because this definitely has my favorite gameplay loop out of any Pokemon game, sneaking up on Pokemon and throwing a Pokeball at the back of their head is just so satisfying. Additionally, the agile and strong moves feel like the best gimmick out of any Pokemon game, not to mention the open world feels purposeful although maybe not the most fun to explore. But despite all that, I got tired of this game by like the third area and just wanted it to be over. It wasn't absolutely painful to play through or anything but it was just sort of okay by that point. I couldn't tell you what caused it but I think it's more of just a personal thing of my fatigue setting in for Pokemon.

Gunstar Heroes

3/4/24 - 3/7/24

This feels like a must-play for anyone who enjoyed Cuphead, it's just so apparent while playing through how inspired that team was by this game. It's basically all run-and-gun levels, but they're genuinely the best out of any game I've played. The stages are all so varied in their content, the boss fights are great, and the mix-and-match gun system is extremely engaging.

Lupin III: The Castle of Cagliostro

3/5/24

I mean, yeah, compared to Miyazaki's other movies, it doesn't have some important message, and it doesn't really have the same childlike innocence of Ponyo or Castle in the Sky but screw all that because it's just pure unadulterated fun and silly action.

Dune: Part Two

3/3/24

I've never really cared about Dune and I still don't, but this movie is definitely the closest I've come to wanting to read the book or watch the original. The plot was still very whatever but like the cinematography was just amazing there are so many shots that I can still vividly remember. Part of that is also just how electric some scenes were. It’s rare that if I don't care about the plot I'll still enjoy a movie this much and be so engaged but it's all thanks to how effortlessly cool some parts were.

February, 2024

We're All Going to the World's Fair

2/29/24

Castle in the Sky

2/24/24

Although it's not as whimsical as Ponyo or as epic as Princess Mononoke, that's okay because it strikes the perfect balance between the two, being an epic adventure filled with childlike innocence.

Castle in the Sky

2/23/24

Although it's not as whimsical as Ponyo or as epic as Princess Mononoke, that's okay because it strikes the perfect balance between the two, being an epic adventure filled with childlike innocence.

Videodrome

2/21/24

I don't really understand this movie, but I don't think you need to in order to enjoy it. Like it's more of a collection of scenes that convey a message than a movie towards the end which ends up being a very unique and visually engaging way of communicating themes.

Twin Peaks: Fire Walk with Me

2/20/24

I was not expecting this to end up as my favorite movie of all time, but here we are. This is the most intense and painful piece of media I've consumed thus far; it's just so painfully tragic. Without spoiling anything, it's just the way Lynch completely destroys the picture-perfect image of Laura that the show only begins chips away at that makes this movie so impactful.

Twin Peaks: Season 2

1/3/24 - 2/20/24

The highs of this season were much better than anything in season one, but, at the same time, the show's plot being resolved halfway through really drags things down. I actually ended up skipping the “filler” episodes just because I didn't see any reason to watch them. Thankfully, the parts David Lynch had a hand in are surreal and unsettling in the best way possible.

Lupin III: The Castle of Cagliostro

2/19/24

I mean, yeah, compared to Miyazaki's other movies, it doesn't have some important message, and it doesn't really have the same childlike innocence of Ponyo or Castle in the Sky but screw all that because it's just pure unadulterated fun and silly action.

Tokusatsu

2/18/24

Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic

2/15/24 - 2/18/24

Castle in the Sky

2/18/24

Although it's not as whimsical as Ponyo or as epic as Princess Mononoke, that's okay because it strikes the perfect balance between the two, being an epic adventure filled with childlike innocence.

Phantom of the Paradise

2/16/24

The Cat Returns

2/11/24

Paprika

2/11/24

Lisa Frankenstein

2/9/24

The Grand Budapest Hotel

2/9/24

Scooby-Doo on Zombie Island

2/7/24

Scott Pilgrim vs. the World

2/5/24

FLCL

2/4/24

Mission: Impossible II

2/2/24

Juno

2/1/24

Godzilla Minus One

2/1/24

January, 2024

Whiplash

1/31/24

Totally Fucked Up

1/28/24

American Fiction

1/28/24

The Holdovers

1/27/24

Oxenfree

1/23/24 - 1/25/24

Pikmin

1/16/24 - 1/22/24